translationQ 1.2 comes with a number of highly requested features:
- Export reports to Word
- Ability to hide the name of the revisor for translators
- Ability to hide the name of the translator for revisors, even after the revision is completed
- Define a time limit for assignments
- Set default values that apply to every revisor
- Additional improvements
We'll explore these one by one in a little more detail below.
In translationQ 1.2, you can export a report to Word both in the Reporting module and on the portal. The Word export shows marked errors as Tracked Changes, and provides more information such as the error category, the score and the feedback in comments.
This export is useful not only for revisors and analysts using the Reporting module, but also for translators: by accepting the tracked changes, they can get a "model answer", or a version of their translation where all errors are corrected. This is a great and flexible way to learn from the feedback.
An often requested feature by translationQ customers is the ability to hide the name of the revisor for the translator. This setting is now available in two places:
- Under Settings > General > Assignment settings: there the administrator can define the default value for new assignments.
- In the Revision step of an assignment: there the revisor can still override the default setting for one assignment when required.
You could already hide the name of the translator for revisors in previous versions of translationQ. This allowed you to prevent subjective revisions. However, when the revision was completed, the revisor could see the real names of the translators again.
In translationQ 1.2 you can choose whether or not revisors can see the real names of translators when the revision is complete. This is a permission on role level, so it always applies to all revisors at once. You can change this permission under Administration > Roles. Administrators by default can see the real names of translators, revisors cannot.
You can now give your translators a fixed amount of time to complete a translation assignment. For instance, you can display an assignment for 2 or 3 days on the translator's portal, but when they start working on the assignment, they get only 1 hour to submit it again.
This is especially useful in the context of high-stakes exams.
Every translationQ customer has different use cases. Therefore, we allow you to set the defaults that apply to your context. In translationQ 1.2, you can define a number of default settings for your translationQ environment. These can be set under Settings > General.
You can choose the following default values:
- On the level of an assignment:
- can translators see a report on the portal?
- should the names of translators be hidden for the revisor during the revision process?
- can the name of the revisor be displayed on the portal?
- When adding an item:
- is "apply this score only once" checked by default or not?
- is "only relevant in this segment" checked by default or not?
All of these settings can still be overridden by the revisor on the level of an assignment or an item, but by defining the correct defaults you can save him/her a lot of extra work!
translationQ 1.2 contains a few additional small improvements:
- When you merge segments, a blank space is added between the merged segments automatically.
- When an assignment has a time limit, you can see in the Reporting exactly how much time the translator has spent on his assignment.