The Recording and Interpreting item have a number of options in common that allow you to customise the item to your own specific use case. You find these options in the Block tab:
Record participant webcam
Enable this option if you want the participant's webcam to be recorded. The participant needs to give permission to assessmentQ in the browser to access the webcam and needs to have a webcam. If either of these conditions is not fulfilled, only audio will be recorded.
Start recording automatically
In Recording items:
- If you enable this option in Recording items, the recording will start automatically as soon as the user opens this item.
In Interpreting items:
- In Simultaneous Interpreting items, the recording will start automatically as soon as the user opens this item.
- In Consecutive Interpreting items with predefined segment markers, you can choose what'll start automatically:
- the source file and/or
- the recording at every marker.
- In Consecutive interpreting items with the option Let the participant mark segments, you cannot enable this option.
In both Recording and Interpreting items, you can define a delay for the automatic recording to start.
Note: When Start recording automatically is activated, only one recording attempt is allowed.
Limit the number of attempts
This option allows you to define how many times the user can start a new recording. Each recording will overwrite the previous one.
- By default, the number of attempts is unlimited.
- When it is limited, the user will see how many attempts remain in the assessmentQ player, and will see a warning message when he starts a new recording:
Note: assessmentQ also provides the option to store all attempts of a Recording or Interpreting item instead of overwriting the previous one with a new one. This, however, can have an impact on the available storage you have in assessmentQ. Contact your account manager for more information about this option.
When you enable the option Show the Play button to the participants, the user can first play back the source file without recording anything yet, so as a kind of preparation. The user can also play back the recording he made. Disable this option if you don't want the user to have playback control.
- Playing the source file upfront does not count as an attempt, so when you enable the Play button, the user can play back the source file many times without any impact on his attempts.
- When the option Start recording automatically is activated, the Play button will only be available to play back the recording afterward. The user will not be able to play back the source file before the recording is started.